Bedtime for Baby

The child inside
is older and more experienced
than the mature man
who was born in the middle of his life,
and has no honor,
only selfishness and greed
as his tools.
He only knows one way to need.
He only knows one way to get.
He doesn’t want to go to bed
And he does not like to lose.

About Eric Kovach

Spiraling out of control~~~~~~o
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bedtime for Baby

  1. Robyn Lee says:

    Amazing work once again ~ Bravo! ~ RL

  2. j.h. white says:

    Hi Eric…I stumbled on the line “who was born in the middle of his life”. Anyone of any gender of this persuasion hasn’t gotten too far past the initial thrust into the world. Just saying…
    Love that you got me thinking

    • Eric Kovach says:

      Hi j.h. I wrote this late at night while I was super tired. I probably messed up the language. I was trying to convey that the child lurking inside of a mature man has been doing his thing for his whole life, as opposed to the the persona taken on as maturity develops. I’m still tired so I’m not sure if you’re disagreeing with my premise. But I do love your insights, always. Thanks.

      edit – upon reflection on the drive home I see what you are saying, j.h. agreed.

      • j.h. white says:

        Oh…it was wonderfully clear…except for that one line. Your poem is right on.
        Infants can be very hedonistic/selfish but of course..they have to be. They can’t even sit up.
        Grown men though…?

Leave a Reply

